Best Organic Orange Juice

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.

Orange juice is a common breakfast drink. This guide covers what to check on an orange juice label, what organic means on a juice, and compares five juices, from a fresh-pressed 12-pack to an 89 fl oz bottle.
Disclaimer: This article is general information, not medical or nutrition advice. Talk to your doctor or a dietitian about juice if you have diabetes or are managing your sugar intake.

Key Specs Compared

Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).

Key specs of the 5 products reviewed below
#FormSizeStated certifications
1Juice12.5 Fl Oz (Pack of 12)USDA Organic
2Juice4 Fl Oz (Pack of 8)Organic ingredients, Non-GMO
3Juice89 Fl OzUSDA Organic
4Juice52 Fl OzUSDA Organic
5Juice16.06 Fl Oz (Pack of 12)Not stated

– = not stated on the Amazon listing · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy

Orange Juice label basics
  • Check the Nutrition Facts label for added sugars, sodium and saturated fat. Total Sugars include sugars that are naturally in fruit, and Added Sugars are shown separately.[1]
  • Look for the USDA Organic seal. Only certified products can make an organic claim on the front of the package.[2]
  • Too much juice can contribute to poor nutrition, obesity and tooth decay in children, so offer whole fruit and water too.[3]


Organic juice comes from fruit grown and processed under USDA organic rules, which exclude genetic engineering and ionizing radiation and allow only approved substances.[2] A product labeled “organic” must contain at least 95 percent organic ingredients, not counting salt and water.[2]

What to Look for on a Good Orange Juice

  • Ingredients – A 100% orange juice has one ingredient, orange juice. Check that no sugar, flavors or preservatives are added.
  • Added Sugars – Compare the Added Sugars line on the Nutrition Facts label, and check the serving size, because a bottle holds several servings.[1]
  • Organic – A USDA Organic seal means the juice follows USDA organic rules.[2]
  • Processing – Not from concentrate, fresh-pressed and pulp-free describe how the juice was made or filtered. Check the label for storage: some juices need refrigeration, and most should be finished within days of opening.
  • Serving Size – Single-serve bottles and cartons make portions easy to track, and children should have only age-appropriate servings.[3]

What the Research Says

The FDA notes that Added Sugars include sugars from concentrated fruit juices and that Americans generally get too much added sugar, saturated fat and sodium.[1] Organic certification covers how a food is grown and processed, not its nutrition.[2]

How We Chose These Products

We do not test products. We compare labels and product details: the USDA Organic seal,[2] the ingredient list, added sugar,[1] size and price per fluid ounce. Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.

Our Organic Orange Juice Picks

Lakewood, 365 and Uncle Matt’s carry a USDA Organic claim, and the O2 Living pick is a carrot juice made with organic ingredients. Odwalla’s orange juice makes no organic claim, so read each box.
1

Lakewood® Pure Orange Juice Organic fresh-pressed orange juice, 12-pack

  • Lakewood Organic Pure Orange is a fresh-pressed orange juice in a 12-pack of 12.5 fl oz bottles, 150 fl oz in all.
  • The juice is 100% fresh-pressed organic orange juice with no sugar added.
  • It is certified USDA Organic and GMO-free.
  • The label and bottle design have been updated, and the juice itself is unchanged.
  • The case measures 10.5 x 8.1 x 7.8 inches.

2

O2 Living® Carrot Kick Juice Organic cold-pressed carrot juice pack

  • O2 Living Carrot Kick is a cold-pressed organic carrot juice, sold as an 8-pack of 4 fl oz bottles (32 fl oz in all).
  • The juice has no added sugar or water, and it is free of artificial preservatives.
  • It is made with 100% organic ingredients and is non-GMO.
  • It is made in the USA.
  • Each 4 fl oz bottle is a single small serving.
  • Other flavors in the line include Green Vitality, Red Radiance and Pineapple Punch.

3

365 Whole Foods® Pulp Free Juice Organic pulp-free orange juice, 89oz

  • 365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Pulp Free Orange Juice comes in an 89 fl oz bottle.
  • The only ingredient is organic orange juice, and the juice is pulp-free and vegan.
  • A serving is 8 fl oz with 110 calories and 22 g of sugars, and the bottle holds about 11 servings.
  • The bottle measures 6.2 x 4.7 x 9.6 inches and weighs about 5.6 pounds.

4

Uncle Matt's® Pulp Free Juice Organic pulp-free orange juice, 52oz

  • Uncle Matt’s Organic Pulp Free Orange Juice comes in a 52 fl oz bottle.
  • The only ingredient is organic orange juice, which is USDA Organic, not from concentrate and flash pasteurized.
  • It has no added sugar, no flavor packets and no preservatives.
  • The bottle is PET #1 plastic and BPA free; keep it refrigerated and drink it within 7 days of opening.
  • The label reads Product of USA and/or Mexico.
  • The bottle measures 3.8 x 4.3 x 9.8 inches and weighs about 3.2 pounds.

5

Odwalla® Pure Orange Juice Not-from-concentrate orange juice, no pulp

  • Odwalla 100% Pure Orange Juice No Pulp comes as a 12-pack of 16 fl oz cartons, about 192 fl oz in all.
  • It has one ingredient, hand-picked Valencia oranges, and it is not from concentrate.
  • There is no added sugar and there are no artificial flavors, ingredients or preservatives.
  • The Tetra Prisma carton is resealable, leak-resistant and recyclable.
  • The single-serve size suits breakfast, the car, lunchboxes and travel.

Index Table: Organic Orange Juice Compared


Sources

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label. Accessed October 25, 2026.
  2. USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Labeling Organic Products. Accessed October 25, 2026.
  3. American Academy of Pediatrics. Fruit Juice and Your Child’s Diet. Accessed October 25, 2026.

Update History

  • Oct 2026: Rewrote the guide text and product notes, corrected the Lakewood and O2 Living size details, and replaced the sources (FDA, USDA AMS, American Academy of Pediatrics)
  • Jun 2020: Added O2 Living Carrot Kick Juice
  • Mar 2020: Added Lakewood Pure Orange Juice
  • Jan 2020: First published

Views: 0



About the Author

Pavneet Lobana

Pavneet Lobana is a content writer. She writes Organic Aspirations' guides to organic skin, hair and personal care, drinks, and home and garden products. She researches ingredients, certifications and manufacturer specifications and explains the trade-offs in plain language, citing her sources. She does not test products hands-on. How we research products.