We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.
Choosing a dog food comes down to reading the label: the ingredient list, the nutritional adequacy statement and any organic claim. This guide explains what organic means on a dog food label, what to check in the ingredients, and compares six foods, from kibble and canned food to a dehydrated base mix.
Key Specs Compared
Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).
| # | Form | Size |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dehydrated | 10 Pound |
| 2 | Dry | 40 Pound |
| 3 | Not stated | 24 Pound |
| 4 | Dry | 4 Pound |
| 5 | Dehydrated base mix | 10 Pound |
| 6 | Canned | 12 x 12.5 Ounce cans |
– = not stated by the maker · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy
What is Organic Dog Food?
Pet food can be certified organic under the USDA organic regulations, the same rules that cover organic human food.[1] Those rules exclude genetic engineering and ionizing radiation and allow only approved substances.[1] A label that says “100 percent organic” means every ingredient is organic, not counting salt and water. A label that says “organic” means at least 95 percent organic ingredients. Only these two can carry the USDA organic seal.[1] A label that says “made with organic” followed by up to three named ingredients means at least 70 percent organic ingredients.[1] An organic claim does not tell you whether a food is nutritionally complete. Check the nutritional adequacy statement for that.[2]Ingredients To Check On A Dog Food Label
- Order of ingredients: Ingredients appear in order of weight, heaviest first, so the first few make up most of the food.[3]
- Named protein: Look for a named meat, such as chicken or beef, near the top of the list.
- Preservatives: Some foods use artificial preservatives such as BHA or BHT to keep fats from going rancid, and others use mixed tocopherols, a form of vitamin E. Tender & True preserves its fats with mixed tocopherols.
- Meat by-products: This is a defined ingredient name that covers organs and other non-muscle animal parts. If you want muscle meat or named organs, look for those names instead.
- Base mixes: A base mix such as Dr. Harvey’s is not a complete meal until you add protein and oil.
Important Points To Consider
These points help when you compare natural and organic dog foods.- Organic vs. natural: “Natural” is not the same as organic. Only certified products can make an organic claim on the front of the package.[1]
- Grain-free vs. gluten-free: Gluten-free isn’t the same as grain-free. Some grains do not contain gluten, so you can get gluten-free dog food that still contains grains. Ask your veterinarian whether a grain-free food suits your dog.
- Organic ingredients vs. all-organic: “Organic” on the label means at least 95% organic ingredients, and “made with organic” means at least 70%.[1]
- Recognizable ingredients: You should be able to read and recognize the ingredients on the label. If a name is unclear, ask the maker.
- Regulations and certifications: The FDA and state feed officials regulate pet food labels, and most states follow AAFCO’s model pet food rules.[3] A complete and balanced dog food is formulated to meet an AAFCO nutrient profile or has passed an AAFCO feeding trial.[2]
- Recalls: Check the FDA’s animal food recall notices before you try a new brand.[4]
What the Research Says
A “complete and balanced” statement means a dog food is intended as the only diet, and it must meet an AAFCO nutrient profile or pass a feeding trial.[2] Ask your veterinarian before switching foods, and about the right food for your dog’s age, size and health.How We Chose These Products
We do not test products. We compare labels and product details: any organic claim,[1] the ingredient list, the nutritional adequacy statement,[2] bag size and form (dry, canned or dehydrated). Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.Our Organic Dog Food Picks
Tender & True is a USDA Organic recipe, Evanger’s Organics is made with organic beef and vegetables, and Dr. Harvey’s base mix includes six organic grains. The Honest Kitchen, Nutrish and Blue Buffalo foods do not make an organic claim, so compare labels before you buy.1
The Honest Kitchen® Whole Grain Chicken Human-grade dehydrated chicken dog food
- The Honest Kitchen Wholemade Whole Grain Chicken Recipe is a human-grade dehydrated dog food in a 10 lb box that makes 40 lbs of food.
- The first ingredient is cage-free chicken, followed by whole foods such as carrots, oats, bananas and celery.
- Just add water to rehydrate it; the dry food is shelf-stable and travels well.
- The recipe has no GMO ingredients, corn, wheat, soy, meat meals, or artificial preservatives, colors or flavors.
- Serve it as a full meal or as a topper over dry or wet dog food.
- The box measures 5.6 x 9.6 x 11.7 inches and weighs 10 pounds.
2
Nutrish® Chicken Veggies Food Dry dog food, 40 lb bag
- Nutrish Real Chicken & Veggies is a dry dog food for adult dogs, made by Post Consumer Brands under the Rachael Ray name.
- Real chicken is the first ingredient, and the recipe is complete and balanced for adult dogs.
- The formula adds vitamins, minerals and taurine, plus vitamin C.
- It has no artificial preservatives or flavors and no poultry by-product meal.
- The 40 lb bag suits large dogs or homes with several dogs.
- The bag measures 6.5 x 19.5 x 24.5 inches and weighs 40 pounds.
3
Blue Buffalo® Basics Turkey Senior Limited-ingredient senior dry dog food, 24lb
- You get 24 lb of limited-ingredient senior dry dog food.
- It is soy-free.
- It measures 24.5 x 15.5 x 4 inches and weighs 24 pounds.
- Read the product label for directions and safety information before use.
4
Tender & True® Chicken Liver Recipe Organic chicken and liver dog food
- Tender & True Organic Chicken & Liver Recipe is a 4 lb bag of grain-free dry dog food.
- The chicken is USDA Organic certified, and the first ingredient is cage-free organic chicken, followed by organic chicken meal, organic peas and organic chickpeas.
- It has no corn, wheat or soy, and its fats are preserved with mixed tocopherols.
- It has at least 26% crude protein and 16% crude fat, and it contains fish (menhaden fish oil).
- It is formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages except the growth of dogs that will weigh 70 lb or more as adults.[2]
- Tender & True Pet Nutrition makes it, and the bag measures 13.8 x 8.8 x 3.5 inches.
5
Dr. Harvey's® Canine Base Mix Dehydrated vegetable dog food base, 10lb
- Dr. Harvey’s Canine Health is a dehydrated base mix, not a complete meal; you add your own protein and oil.
- The mix has nine dehydrated vegetables, crushed eggshells for calcium and six organic whole grains.
- To prepare it, stir in hot water, let it sit for 8 minutes, then add a protein and a healthy oil of your choice.
- One 10 lb bag makes 66 one-pound meals once you add protein.
- It is human grade and made in the USA by Healthy Formulations Inc.
- The guaranteed analysis shows crude protein at a minimum of 9%.
- The bag measures 7 x 14 x 18 inches and weighs 10 pounds.
6
Evanger's® Organics Beef Dinner Organic grain-free beef dog food, 12ct
- Evanger’s Organics Beef Dinner is a wet dog food sold as a 12-count case of 12.5 oz cans.
- The recipe is made with organic beef and organic vegetables, and it is grain-free and GMO-free.
- It meets AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages, including puppies, adults, and pregnant and nursing dogs.
- The cans are BPA-free and recyclable.
- Evanger’s Dog & Cat Food Company makes it.
- The case measures 12 x 9 x 4 inches and weighs about 9.6 pounds.
Index Table: Organic Dog Food Compared
| No. | Product | Image | Features | Brand |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Chicken - Human-grade dehydrated chicken dog food | ![]() |
| The Honest Kitchen |
| 2 | Nutrish Chicken Veggies Food - Dry dog food, 40 lb bag | ![]() |
| Nutrish |
| 3 | Blue Buffalo Basics Turkey Senior - Limited-ingredient senior dry dog food, 24lb | ![]() |
| Blue Buffalo |
| 4 | Tender & True Chicken Liver Recipe - Organic chicken and liver dog food | ![]() |
| Tender & True |
| 5 | Dr. Harvey's Canine Base Mix - Dehydrated vegetable dog food base, 10lb | ![]() |
| Dr. Harvey's |
| 6 | Evanger's Organics Beef Dinner - Organic grain-free beef dog food, 12ct | ![]() |
| Evanger's |
Sources
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Labeling Organic Products. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “Complete and Balanced” Pet Food. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Reading Labels. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Recalls & Withdrawals (Animal & Veterinary). Accessed October 25, 2026.
Update History
- Oct 2026: Rewrote the guide text and product notes, corrected the organic labeling categories (100 percent, organic, made with organic), added the Tender & True kibble details and Key Specs, and replaced the sources (USDA AMS, FDA, AAFCO)
- Jun 2020: Added Tender & True Chicken & Liver Dog Food, Dr. Harvey’s Canine Health Base Mix Dog Food and Evanger’s Organics Beef Dinner Dog Food
- Jul 2019: Added The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Chicken Dog Food, Nutrish Chicken & Veggies Dry Dog Food and Blue Buffalo Basics Turkey Senior Dog Food
- Jun 2019: First published











