We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.
Probiotic labels for women are crowded with big CFU numbers, strain names and the word organic. This guide explains what those terms mean, what the research covers, and how six probiotic products that use organic ingredients compare by form, count and certification.
Key Specs Compared
Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).
| # | Form | Size / count | Stated certifications | Vegan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Capsules | 30 Count | Organic cranberry extract (no seal named) | Yes |
| 2 | Capsules | 30 Count | Organic prebiotics (no seal named) | Not stated |
| 3 | Capsules | 30 Count | Organic prebiotics (no seal named) | Not stated |
| 4 | Capsules | 60 Count | Organic cranberry (no seal named) | Not stated |
| 5 | Gummies | 120 Count | USDA Organic, Non-GMO | Vegetarian |
| 6 | Capsules | 60 Count | Certified organic prebiotics, Certified Vegan, Non-GMO | Yes |
– = not stated by the maker · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy
- Probiotics are live microorganisms, and NCCIH says the risk of harmful effects is greater in people with severe illness or weakened immune systems.[1]
- NCCIH says taking probiotics along with antibiotics appears safe, except for patients who are very weak or have poorly functioning immune systems.[1]
- See a doctor for vaginal symptoms, recurring infections or pelvic pain. They need a diagnosis, not a supplement.
- Probiotic supplements are not approved by the FDA before they are sold.[1][2]
What Probiotics Are
- Live Microorganisms – Probiotics are live microorganisms found in yogurt, other fermented foods and dietary supplements.[1]
- Common Strains – Most are Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium bacteria, and some are yeasts such as Saccharomyces boulardii.[1]
- Strain Matters – Different probiotics have different effects. If one kind of Lactobacillus helps with a problem, another kind may not.[1]
- Prebiotics and Synbiotics – Prebiotics are nondigestible food components that feed helpful microorganisms, and a product that combines probiotics and prebiotics is a synbiotic. Most picks here add prebiotics.[1]
What Organic Means on a Probiotic
- The Claim – The organic claim on these products covers ingredients such as the prebiotic fiber, cranberry extract or gummy base, not the live bacteria.
- USDA Organic – A product with the USDA Organic seal has at least 95 percent organic ingredients, and a product labeled made with organic ingredients has at least 70 percent.[3]
- On This Page – SmartyPants carries the USDA Organic seal. Ora Organic states certified organic prebiotics, and the other four name an organic prebiotic or cranberry extract.
- Not a Stronger Probiotic – An organic prebiotic does not make the bacteria stronger or better, so compare the strains and the dose separately.
What to Check on a Probiotic Label
- Strains – Look for the full strain names, such as Lactobacillus rhamnosus, not only the genus. Different strains have different effects.[1]
- CFU Count – CFU stands for colony-forming units, the number of live organisms per serving. NCCIH says researchers still do not know how much of a probiotic people need, so a bigger number is not a better product.[1]
- CFU at Expiration – Live counts fall over time, so a CFU number guaranteed through the expiration date, as Ora Organic states, is more useful than one at manufacture.
- Storage and Delivery – Some probiotics need the fridge and some are shelf-stable. Several picks use delayed-release or acid-resistant capsules.
- Serving Size – SmartyPants takes four gummies a day, while the capsule picks are one a day.
What the Research Says
NCCIH says a great deal of research exists on probiotics, but in most instances researchers do not know which probiotics help, how much to take, or who is most likely to benefit.[1] The strongest evidence is for preventing antibiotic-associated diarrhea, where a 2017 review found about half the likelihood of diarrhea when probiotics were taken with antibiotics, though the studies were of moderate quality.[1] Many probiotics are sold as dietary supplements, which do not need FDA approval before they are marketed.[1][2]How We Chose These Products
We do not test products. We compare product details: form, amount per container, stated certifications, ingredients and availability.[2][3] Products that are out of stock stay as they are. Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.Our Probiotic Picks for Women
These six products include five capsule probiotics and one multivitamin and probiotic gummy, with counts from 30 to 120. With every purchase through the links on this page, we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.1
Vitalitown® Women's Probiotic 120 billion CFU, 30 strains, with cranberry
- Vitalitown Women’s Probiotic is a 30-count bottle of delayed-release vegan capsules with 120 billion CFU from 30 strains.
- It adds prebiotics, plant-based digestive enzymes and organic cranberry extract, and it is shelf-stable.
- It is made in the USA, and the maker tests it for purity and potency through a third party.
2
Physician's CHOICE® Probiotics For Women 50 billion CFU, 6 strains, with prebiotics
- Physician’s CHOICE Probiotics for Women is a 30-count bottle of acid-resistant capsules with 50 billion CFU from 6 strains.
- It adds organic prebiotics, a cranberry extract and D-mannose, in a shelf-stable bottle.
- It is third-party tested and made in the USA.
3
Wholesome Wellness® Organic Raw Probiotics 100 billion CFU, 34 strains, prebiotics
- Wholesome Wellness Organic Raw Probiotics is a 30-count bottle with 100 billion CFU from 34 strains per serving.
- It adds organic prebiotics and digestive enzymes, and it is shelf-stable.
- It is sold for women and men, and it is made in a UL and GMP certified facility in the USA.
4
Doctor's Recipes® Women's Probiotic 50 billion CFU, 16 strains, with cranberry
- Doctor’s Recipes Women’s Probiotic is a 60-count bottle of delayed-release capsules with 50 billion CFU from 16 strains.
- It includes Lactobacillus rhamnosus and Lactobacillus reuteri, plus prebiotics and organic cranberry.
- It is shelf-stable, free of soy, gluten and dairy, and made in the USA.
5
SmartyPants® Women's Multi Probiotic Organic multivitamin and probiotic gummies
- SmartyPants Organic Women’s Multi and Probiotic Gummies are a 120-count bottle, a 30 day supply at four gummies a day.
- They combine a multivitamin with probiotics and plant-based omega-3 ALA, in raspberry, lemon lime and grape flavors.
- They are USDA Organic, non-GMO and gluten-free, and a third party tests them for contaminants.
6
Ora Organic® Vaginal Probiotic L. crispatus formula with 6 strains
- Ora Organic Vaginal Probiotic is a 60-count bottle of capsules built around Lactobacillus crispatus, with six strains and 16 billion CFU guaranteed at expiration.
- Each serving has 725 mg of certified organic Jerusalem artichoke inulin as the prebiotic.
- It is certified vegan and non-GMO, and free of dairy, gluten, soy and sugar.
Index Table: Organic Probiotic Supplements for Women
| No. | Product | Image | Features | Brand |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vitalitown Women's Probiotic - 120 billion CFU, 30 strains, with cranberry | ![]() |
| Vitalitown |
| 2 | Physician's CHOICE Probiotics For Women - 50 billion CFU, 6 strains, with prebiotics | ![]() |
| Physician's CHOICE |
| 3 | Wholesome Wellness Organic Raw Probiotics - 100 billion CFU, 34 strains, prebiotics | ![]() |
| Wholesome Wellness |
| 4 | Doctor's Recipes Women's Probiotic - 50 billion CFU, 16 strains, with cranberry | ![]() |
| Doctor's Recipes |
| 5 | SmartyPants Women's Multi Probiotic - Organic multivitamin and probiotic gummies | ![]() |
| SmartyPants |
| 6 | Ora Organic Vaginal Probiotic - L. crispatus formula with 6 strains | ![]() |
| Ora Organic |
Sources
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Probiotics: Usefulness and Safety. Accessed October 26, 2026.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know. Accessed October 26, 2026.
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Organic Labeling Standards. Accessed October 26, 2026.
Update History
- Oct 2026: Rewrote the guide text and product notes, added a plain explanation of probiotic strains, CFU and what the organic claim covers, corrected the product details, removed the vaginal and immunity claims the sources did not support, set the Key Specs to form, count and certification, and updated the sources (NCCIH, NIH ODS, USDA AMS)
- Nov 2021: First published











