As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.
Crackers are flat, dry baked snacks, usually made from flour, and they work as a base for cheese, dips and soups. This guide covers the main types of crackers, what to read on the label, and compares organic crackers, plus one gluten-free option that is not labeled organic, by size, ingredients and certification.
Key Specs Compared
Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).
| # | Form | Size | Stated certifications | Gluten-free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Almond flour crackers | 3.5 Ounce | Non-GMO (not labeled organic) | Yes |
| 2 | Whole | 6.5 Ounce (Pack of 6) | Certified organic, Non-GMO, Kosher | Yes |
| 3 | Baked cheese crackers | 11.25 Ounce | USDA Organic, Non-GMO | Not stated |
| 4 | Round crackers | 12 Ounce | Organic | Not stated |
| 5 | Sourdough crackers | 4.4 Ounce | USDA Organic, Non-GMO, Regenerative Organic Certified wheat | Not stated |
– = not stated on the Amazon listing · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy
- Check the Nutrition Facts label for added sugars, sodium and saturated fat. A %DV of 5% or less per serving is low, and 20% or more is high.[1]
- Look for the USDA Organic seal if you want organic crackers. Products labeled organic must be overseen by a USDA-authorized certifying agent.[2]
- Check the allergen statement. Wheat, milk, tree nuts, sesame and other major allergens must appear in the allergen statement on U.S. labels.[3]
- A gluten-free label means the food has less than 20 parts per million of gluten.[4]
Types of Crackers
- Saltine or Soda Crackers – Thin, square and perforated, with salt sprinkled on top.
- Cream Crackers – Made from wheat flour, vegetable oil and yeast, and often served with cheese or butter.
- Water Crackers – Flour and water baked until hard and brittle, with little or no fat.
- Seed and Nut-Flour Crackers – Made with seeds or almond flour instead of wheat. Healing Home Foods uses almond flour, oat flour and flaxseed meal.
- Cheese Crackers – Baked with cheese in the dough. Annie’s Cheddar Bunnies are an example.
What to Check on a Cracker Label
- Whole Grain – Look for a whole grain flour as the first ingredient if you want whole grains, and compare fiber %DV across brands.[1]
- Added Sugar – Savory crackers can still include cane sugar, invert sugar or malt, so check the added sugars line.[1]
- Sodium – Crackers vary widely, so compare milligrams per serving, and check the serving size first.[1]
- Allergens – Most wheat crackers contain wheat, and cheese crackers contain milk.[3]
- Pairings – Crackers go well with organic jams and jellies.
What the Research Says
The FDA’s guide to the Nutrition Facts label explains %DV and the nutrients to compare, including added sugars and sodium.[1] Organic labels follow USDA rules and require oversight by a certifying agent.[2] The major food allergens, including wheat, milk, tree nuts and sesame, must be declared on U.S. food labels.[3] Gluten-free labels require less than 20 parts per million of gluten.[4] Organic certification covers how ingredients are grown and processed, not sodium or sugar.[2]How We Chose These Products
We do not test products. We compare product details: organic certification, ingredients, allergens, size and availability.[2] Products that are out of stock stay as they are. Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.Our Organic Cracker Picks
These crackers range from a 3.5 oz bag to a 12 oz box. Healing Home Foods is gluten-free but not labeled organic. With every purchase through the links on this page, we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.1
Healing Home Foods® Garden Herb Crackers Gluten-free almond flour rosemary thyme crackers
- Healing Home Foods Garden Herb Crackers are a 3.5 oz bag of almond flour crackers with rosemary and thyme.
- They are vegan, gluten-free, non-GMO and soy-free. The label does not claim organic.
- The ingredients include almond flour, oat flour, flaxseed meal, extra virgin olive oil, nutritional yeast and Himalayan salt.
- The crackers are dehydrated at low temperatures and handmade in Maine.
- They contain almonds, a tree nut.
2
Mary's Gone Crackers® Original Crackers Organic gluten-free whole grain crackers
- You get organic gluten-free whole grain crackers from Mary’s Gone Crackers, in a 6-pack (6.5 oz each). The full pack adds up to 39 oz.
- This one is certified organic, non-GMO, vegan and gluten-free.
- It is nut-free.
- It suits snacking and toppings.
3
Annie's® Cheddar Bunnies Organic baked cheddar snack crackers, 11.25oz
- Annie’s Organic Cheddar Bunnies Original Baked Snack Crackers come in an 11.25 oz box.
- They are USDA Organic and non-GMO, with no artificial flavors, synthetic colors or high-fructose corn syrup.
- They are made with real organic cheddar cheese, and they contain wheat and milk.
- A serving of 51 crackers has 140 calories and 260 mg of sodium (11% DV), with 0 g added sugars.
- The box holds 10 servings.
4
365 Whole Foods® Golden Round Crackers Organic golden round crackers, 12oz box
- 365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Golden Round Crackers come in a 12 oz box.
- The main ingredients are organic enriched wheat flour, organic palm oil, organic cane sugar and salt.
- They also include organic invert sugar syrup and organic barley malt extract.
- Use them with cheese plates and dips.
5
Patagonia Provisions® Sourdough Sea Salt Organic stoneground wheat sourdough sea salt crackers, 4.4 oz
- Patagonia Provisions Organic Sourdough Sea Salt Crackers come in a 4.4 oz box.
- They are USDA Organic and non-GMO, with no added sugar and 3 g of plant protein per serving.
- The ingredients are organic stoneground wheat flour, organic high oleic sunflower oil, organic sourdough, sea salt, lactic acid, baking soda and organic yeast extract.
- The wheat is Regenerative Organic Certified.
- The crackers contain wheat and rye.
Index Table: Top-Rated Organic Crackers
| No. | Product | Image | Features | Brand |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Healing Home Foods Garden Herb Crackers - Gluten-free almond flour rosemary thyme crackers |
| Healing Home Foods | |
| 2 | Mary's Gone Crackers Original Crackers - Organic gluten-free whole grain crackers |
| Mary's Gone Crackers | |
| 3 | Annie's Cheddar Bunnies - Organic baked cheddar snack crackers, 11.25oz |
| Annie's | |
| 4 | 365 Whole Foods Golden Round Crackers - Organic golden round crackers, 12oz box | 365 Whole Foods | ||
| 5 | Patagonia Provisions Sourdough Sea Salt - Organic stoneground wheat sourdough sea salt crackers, 4.4 oz | Patagonia Provisions |
Sources
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Organic Labeling Standards. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Food Allergies: What You Need to Know. Accessed October 25, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Questions and Answers on the Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule. Accessed October 25, 2026.
Update History
- Oct 2026: Rewrote the guide text and product notes, removed the unsupported fiber, sodium and health claims, added cracker types, label basics, allergen and gluten-free guidance, corrected the Annie’s, 365 and Patagonia Provisions ingredient details, set the Key Specs to type, size and certification, and replaced the sources (FDA, USDA AMS)
- Mar 2021: First published
Views: 0