Best Organic Bone Broth

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.

Bone broth is a savory way to add a little protein to your day: about 8 to 10 grams per cup, versus 2 to 6 grams in most regular broths.[1] Here’s what organic certification covers, what bone broth can and can’t do, and four organic picks.
Disclaimer: This article is general information, not medical or nutrition advice.

Key Specs Compared

Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).

Key specs of the 4 products reviewed below
#FormSizeStated certificationsGluten-free
1Liquid17 Fl OzUSDA OrganicNot stated
2Liquid32 Ounce (Pack of 12)USDA Organic, Non-GMOYes
3Liquid16.9 Fl Oz (Pack of 6)USDA Organic (per listing), Non-GMOYes
4Liquid8.3 Ounce (Pack of 6)USDA OrganicYes

– = not stated on the Amazon listing · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy

Bone broth tips
  • Many broths are high in sodium; check the label.[2]
  • Bone broth hasn’t been shown to heal the gut or rebuild joints.[3]


Why Choose Organic Broth?

Organic bone broth must be made from animals raised on organic feed (no GMOs) that weren’t given antibiotics or growth hormones.[4] That’s a farming standard; it doesn’t make the broth more nutritious.[5] Organic rules also require cattle and other grazing animals to be on pasture during the grazing season[6], which some shoppers prefer for animal-welfare reasons. Organic or not, many bone broths are high in sodium; some have more than 450 mg per cup, about 20% of the daily limit, so look for low-sodium or unsalted versions.[1] Bone broth has no fiber. If you want a heartier option with vegetables or beans, see our organic canned soup picks.

What Bone Broth Can and Can’t Do

  • Protein, not a joint cure: Bone broth’s protein comes mostly from gelatin. Your body digests it into amino acids like any other protein; claims that bone broth rebuilds joints, bones or skin aren’t backed by good evidence, and it has only small amounts of minerals.[3]
  • Lead: Small studies have found low levels of lead in bone broth, more than in broth made from meat alone but still under drinking-water limits. Vary your protein sources rather than drinking large amounts every day.[3]

When scanning the shelves for a good, sustainably sourced bone broth at the local market or grocery store, here’s what to look for.
  • The organic seal: Look for the USDA Organic seal, which covers the bones and the vegetables.[5]
  • Sodium and protein per cup: Compare the Nutrition Facts panels.[2] Vinegar is a common recipe ingredient, but it isn’t a sign of quality on its own.

What the Research Says

Dietary guidelines recommend a healthy eating pattern built on vegetables, fruits, whole grains, lean proteins and healthy oils, with limits on added sugar, sodium and saturated fat.[7] Organic certification covers how food is grown and processed, not its nutrition.[5]

How We Chose These Products

We don’t test products hands-on. We compared labels and listings: the USDA Organic seal [5], ingredients and added sugar, size, and price per ounce. We removed one powder whose listing makes no organic claim. On October 18, 2026 we searched FDA recall records [8][9] and found no recalls for these brands or for bone broth products. Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.

Our Organic Chicken & Beef Bone Broth Picks


1

Trader Joe's® Chicken Bone Broth Organic chicken bone broth carton

  • Trader Joe’s organic chicken bone broth carton comes in a 17 fl oz size.
  • Look for USDA Organic on the package.
  • It comes in a carton.
  • The package measures 5.5 x 3.5 x 1.8 inches and weighs 1.1 pounds.
  • Check the package label for the full ingredient list and allergen information before you buy.

2

Pacific Foods® Unsalted Bone Broth Organic unsalted chicken bone broth cartons

  • You get organic unsalted chicken bone broth cartons from Pacific Foods, in a 12-pack (32 oz each). The full pack adds up to 384 oz.
  • USDA Organic labeling is on the package, and it is non-GMO, gluten-free, paleo-friendly and keto-friendly as well.
  • Key ingredients: collagen.
  • It comes in recyclable packaging.
  • It holds 4 servings and has 9 g of protein.

3

Kettle & Fire® Chicken Bone Broth Chicken bone broth in shelf-stable carton

  • Kettle & Fire Chicken Bone Broth is a chicken bone broth in shelf-stable carton, and it comes in a 6-pack (19 g each). The full pack adds up to 114 g.
  • USDA Organic labeling is on the package, and it is non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free and paleo-friendly as well.[2]
  • Made with collagen.
  • It comes in a carton.
  • It has 19 g of protein.

4

Brodo® Organic Chicken Broth Organic chicken bone broth, six cartons

  • Brodo’s organic chicken bone broth (six cartons) comes in an 8.3 oz size.
  • USDA Organic labeling is on the package, and it is keto-friendly as well.
  • Made with collagen.
  • It is preservative-free.
  • It is meant for snacking and coffee.

Index Table: Organic Bone Broths Compared


Sources

  1. Hendley J. Harvard Health Publishing, 2025. Savoring the benefits of bone broth: Worth a taste?. Accessed October 18, 2026.
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label. Accessed October 16, 2026.
  3. Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, The Nutrition Source. Collagen (section: Is bone broth healthy?). Accessed October 18, 2026.
  4. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. 7 CFR 205.238, Livestock health care practice standard. Accessed October 18, 2026.
  5. USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Organic Labeling Standards. Accessed October 16, 2026.
  6. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. 7 CFR 205.237, Livestock feed (organic grazing requirements). Accessed October 18, 2026.
  7. Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025. Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025. Accessed October 16, 2026.
  8. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Recalls, Market Withdrawals, & Safety Alerts. Accessed October 16, 2026.
  9. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, openFDA. Food Recall Enforcement Reports (searched October 18, 2026). Accessed October 18, 2026.

Update History

  • Oct 2026: Removed Bare Bones Instant Beef Bone Broth (no organic claim on its listing); corrected the joint-protection claim and the ‘confined animals give nutrient-less bones’ line; added protein, sodium and lead notes (Harvard); replaced a mis-matched citation; Key Specs updated; Sources (FDA, Dietary Guidelines, USDA AMS, Harvard, eCFR, openFDA)
  • Jul 2020: Added Trader Joe’s Chicken Bone Broth
  • Apr 2019: First published

Views: 0



About the Author

Eliza Ward

Eliza Ward is a writer, nature lover and full-time mother of three, based in South Africa. She writes Organic Aspirations' guides to organic food, nutrition basics and family products. She researches each product from manufacturer information and organic and safety certifications (checked with the certifier where possible), along with guidance from health authorities, and she cites her sources. She is not a medical professional and does not test products hands-on. How we research products.