We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. Product links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; see our Affiliate Disclosure.
Iron helps the body make hemoglobin, the protein in red blood cells that carries oxygen, and many people take iron supplements when a doctor finds their levels low. This guide covers how much iron NIH says people need, who is at risk of low iron, the safety rules for iron products, and how five organic iron supplements compare by form, count and certification.General information, not medical advice. Talk to your doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement, especially if you are pregnant, take medicine or are buying for a child.

Key Specs Compared
Numbers match the reviews below (tap to jump).
| # | Form | Size / count | Stated certifications | Vegan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tablets | 60 Count | Non-GMO Project Verified, Kosher | Vegetarian (vegan not stated) |
| 2 | Liquid drops | 1 Fl Oz | USDA Organic | Not stated |
| 3 | Capsules | 90 Count | USDA Organic, Non-GMO | Yes |
| 4 | Capsules | 90 Count | Non-GMO, Gluten-free, Soy-free | Yes |
| 5 | Capsules | 30 Count | Non-GMO Project Verified, NSF Certified Gluten-Free | Yes |
– = not stated by the maker · Specs and certifications as stated by the listing, not tested or verified by us; check the listing before you buy
- Accidental overdose of iron-containing products is a leading cause of fatal poisoning in children under 6, so keep iron supplements where children cannot reach them.[1][3]
- The daily upper limit for adults is 45 mg of iron from all sources, and 40 mg for children aged 1 to 13. A doctor may prescribe more for a time to treat iron deficiency.[1]
- People with hemochromatosis, an inherited condition that builds up iron, should avoid iron supplements and vitamin C supplements.[1]
- Iron can make levothyroxine and levodopa work less well, and calcium can reduce iron absorption. Take them at different times and ask your pharmacist.[1]
Who Needs Iron?
- What It Does – Your body uses iron to make hemoglobin, which carries oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body, and myoglobin, which supplies oxygen to muscles.[1]
- Daily Amounts – NIH gives 8 mg a day for men aged 19 and over, 18 mg for women aged 19 to 50, 8 mg for women over 50, 27 mg during pregnancy, 7 mg for children aged 1 to 3 and 11 mg for infants aged 7 to 12 months. Vegetarians who skip meat, poultry and seafood need almost twice as much.[1]
- Higher Risk – NIH names teen girls and women with heavy periods, pregnant women, infants, frequent blood donors, and people with cancer, digestive disorders or heart failure as groups more likely to run low.[1]
- Signs of Deficiency – Iron deficiency anemia can bring tiredness, weakness, stomach upset and trouble concentrating. These signs have many causes, so get a blood test before you start iron.[1]
Iron Supplement Forms
- Common Compounds – Iron in supplements is often ferrous sulfate, ferrous gluconate, ferric citrate or ferric sulfate. The label shows the amount of elemental iron per serving.[1]
- Whole-Food Blends – Several organic products mix iron with organic fruits, vegetables or herbs and add vitamin C. The label still states the iron per serving, so read that figure first.[2]
- Liquid Drops – Drops are made for infants and toddlers. Give iron to a child only on the advice of your pediatrician, and use the dropper that comes with the bottle.
- Stomach Effects – High doses of iron, especially on an empty stomach, can cause an upset stomach, constipation, nausea, abdominal pain, vomiting and diarrhea.[1]
What to Check on an Iron Supplement Label
- Elemental Iron – Compare the milligrams of iron per serving with the daily amounts above. Several products here give 22 mg or 25 mg in one serving, which is more than the 8 mg an adult man needs.[1]
- Warning Statement – US rules require iron-containing supplements to carry a warning about accidental overdose in children under 6.[3]
- Supplement Facts Panel – It shows the ingredients, the serving size and the amount per serving.[4]
- Organic Seal – Look for the USDA Organic seal if you want a certified organic product.[5]
- Count and Price – Divide the price by the number of servings, not capsules, to compare products fairly.
What the Research Says
The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says iron’s most important contribution to health is preventing iron deficiency anemia and the problems it causes.[1] It notes that most people in the United States get enough iron, and that taking more iron from foods or supplements usually does not reduce the anemia that comes with chronic disease.[1] It advises pregnant women to talk with their health care provider and take an iron supplement only if recommended.[1] The Health Professional sheet treats iron as safe for most adults below the upper limit, and it also warns that doses in the hundreds or thousands of milligrams can cause organ failure, coma and death.[2]How We Chose These Products
We do not test products. We compare product details: form, amount per container, stated certifications, ingredients and availability.[4][5] Brands don’t pay to be included, though we may earn a commission from purchases.Our Organic Iron Supplement Picks
These five iron products come as tablets, capsules and infant drops, with a USDA Organic or Non-GMO Project Verified claim. With every purchase through the links on this page, we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.1
New Chapter® Fermented Iron Complex Fermented iron with organic vegetables and herbs, 60 tablets
- New Chapter Fermented Iron Complex is a 60-tablet bottle of iron grown on yeast and blended with organic vegetables and herbs.
- It adds vitamin C, vitamin E, folate, vitamin B12 and zinc, and it is Non-GMO Project Verified, kosher and vegetarian.
- The label also states that it is dairy-free, sugar-free and third-party tested.
2
Wellements® Liquid Iron Drops Organic liquid iron drops for infants and toddlers, cherry
- Wellements Organic Liquid Iron Drops are a 1 fl oz bottle of cherry-flavored drops for infants and toddlers.
- The drops are USDA Organic and come in a glass bottle with a dropper.
- Check with your pediatrician before you give iron to a child, and keep the bottle out of reach.
3
Triquetra Health® Organic Iron Organic plant iron, 25 mg, with vitamin C and B vitamins
- Triquetra Health Organic Iron is a 90-capsule bottle that gives 25 mg of iron from a plant-based whole food source.
- The formula adds vitamin C, black pepper extract and vitamins B6, B9 and B12.
- It is USDA Organic, non-GMO and made in the USA, and 25 mg is above the adult daily amount of 8 mg for men, so it suits people whose doctor wants more iron.
4
NATURELO® Vegan Iron Iron bisglycinate with vitamin C and organic whole foods
- Naturelo Vegan Iron is a 90-capsule bottle that uses iron bisglycinate chelate with vitamin C and organic whole foods.
- It is vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free and soy-free, with no added colors, preservatives or flavors.
- It is made in a GMP-certified facility.
5
Garden of Life® Vitamin Code Iron Raw whole food iron with 23 organic fruits and vegetables, 30 capsules
- Garden of Life Vitamin Code Raw Iron is a 30-capsule bottle that gives 22 mg of iron per capsule.
- It adds vitamin C, vitamin B12 and folate, a blend of 23 organic fruits and vegetables, and a raw probiotic and enzyme blend.
- It is vegan, Non-GMO Project Verified and NSF Certified Gluten-Free.
Index Table: Organic Iron Supplements
| No. | Product | Image | Features | Brand |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New Chapter Fermented Iron Complex - Fermented iron with organic vegetables and herbs, 60 tablets | ![]() |
| New Chapter |
| 2 | Wellements Liquid Iron Drops - Organic liquid iron drops for infants and toddlers, cherry | ![]() |
| Wellements |
| 3 | Triquetra Health Organic Iron - Organic plant iron, 25 mg, with vitamin C and B vitamins | ![]() |
| Triquetra Health |
| 4 | NATURELO Vegan Iron - Iron bisglycinate with vitamin C and organic whole foods | ![]() |
| NATURELO |
| 5 | Garden of Life Vitamin Code Iron - Raw whole food iron with 23 organic fruits and vegetables, 30 capsules | ![]() |
| Garden of Life |
Sources
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Iron: Fact Sheet for Consumers. Accessed October 27, 2026.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Iron: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Accessed October 27, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 101.17: Food labeling warning, notice, and safe handling statements (iron-containing supplements). Accessed October 27, 2026.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know. Accessed October 27, 2026.
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service. Organic Labeling Standards. Accessed October 27, 2026.
Update History
- Oct 2026: Rewrote the guide text and product notes around NIH iron fact sheets, added the daily amounts, upper limit, child poisoning warning and medicine interactions, removed unsupported claims and the product-page sources, and replaced the sources (NIH, FDA, USDA)
- Oct 2026: Removed Floradix Iron & Herbs and MaryRuth’s Iron Gummies, which make no organic claim; corrected the absorption claim
- Oct 2025: Added New Chapter Fermented Iron Complex, Floradix Iron & Herbs, Wellements Liquid Iron Drops, Triquetra Health Organic Iron, Naturelo Vegan Iron and MaryRuth’s Iron Gummies
- Nov 2019: First published









